Taco Salad

IMG_2727
I’ve tried every diet out there. After I had my children I had 20 lbs to lose after each one. The only diet that worked, with exercise of course, was the Suzanne Somers diet. In the process I bought 2 of her books and still make a handful of her recipes. This particular recipe is found in her book, Eat Great, Lose Weight. You can make taco salad or tacos with this one.

Ingredients;

2 TBS vegetable oil
1 medium onion, chopped
5 garlic cloves, pressed
1 PND ground beef
1 tsp paprika
1 tsp ground cumin
1/2 tsp dried oregano
1/2 tsp chili powder
1/2 tsp cayenne
salt and freshly ground black pepper
1 cup water
1 can (6 ozs) tomato paste
1 head lettuce, chopped
2 tomatoes, chopped
6 ozs cheese, grated
6 TBS sour cream
6 green onions, chopped
salsa

Directions;

Heat oil in a large skillet. Add onion and cook until translucent. Add garlic and cook 1 minute longer. Turn up heat to high and add beef. Cook until browned. Drain excess fat. Lower heat and add all spices, water and tomato paste. Bring to a boil, reduce and simmer for 10 minutes. Assemble salad.

About Chez Starz

I live in California with my wonderful children and have an amazing boyfriend. I have been a paramedic for over 20 years and work for a Fire District as their EMS Manager. I have a passion and love for food and cooking. This blog is just a place to share my favorite recipes.
This entry was posted in Beef and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

