Lem’s Bar-B-Q House BBQ Sauce

americas-best-bbq

Hello to my fellow blogosphere friends.  I have been away awhile while completing my degree but, never fail, I will continue to post and post all my favorite recipes.  This is the best homemade BBQ sauce I have ever made.  I have doubled, tripled, quadrupled, the recipe as needed.  It is really good and, like all recipes, can be tweaked to your liking.  I found this recipe in the book America’s Best BBQ by Davis and Kirk.  Lem’s BBQ House is located in Chicago, Illinois at 311 E. 75th St., if you’re ever in the area.

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup ketchup
  • 1/4 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 2 TBS granulated sugar
  • 2 TBS apple cider vinegar
  • 1 TBS chili powder
  • 1 tsp. dry mustard
  • 2 TBS Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 tsp. sea salt
  • 1 tsp. finely ground black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp. ground celery salt

Directions:

Combine all ingredients in a saucepan over medium heat, stirring to dissolve all sugars, stirring occasionally for 30 minutes, cool to room temperature.

Author: Chez Starz

I have a passion for food and travel. I am always looking for delicious recipes to cook and share with my family. This site is simply a way to share family recipes and those I find in cookbooks and online.

3 thoughts on “Lem’s Bar-B-Q House BBQ Sauce”

  1. Could you get the receipt for lens dry rub? I live in New Jersey and they know very little about good bbq. It would be nice to make the ribs and rib tips for friends and family. I too am from the Chicago area.

    1. Interesting enough, the book I found the BBQ sauce recipe in also includes Lem’s BBQ Dry Rub.
      Here it is, I will put it on a page on my site this weekend:
      Ingredients:
      1/4 cup packed light brown sugar
      2 TBS seasoned salt
      1 TBS chili powder
      2 tsp finely ground black pepper
      1 tsp cayenne
      1 tsp Old Bay seasoning
      1 tsp rubbed sage
      1 tsp onion powder

      Directions:
      Blend all ingredients above well. Store in an airtight container in a cool, dark place until ready to use, for up to 6 months.

      Enjoy

  2. Thanks for sharing! I grew up on the South Side of Chicago and now live in the NY area…really miss LEMS! Now if you could get the recipe for the hot links (- ;

Leave a comment